Box Office

 The Playhouse Mainstage
February 28 – April 7, 2012

Download Production Program »


Written and Performed by Hershey Felder
Directed by Joel Zwick

The World Premiere Of LINCOLN - AN AMERICAN STORY For Actor and Symphony Orchestra

Hershey Felder returns to The Pasadena Playhouse by popular demand with three limited engagements - including a World Premiere presentation of his newest work. Last season Hershey Felder entertained Playhouse audiences with his amazing performance of George Gershwin Alone and now two of Felder's "Composer Collection" hit shows: MONSIEUR CHOPIN and MAESTRO: THE ART OF LEONARD BERNSTEIN will make their Playhouse debuts followed by the World Premiere of LINCOLN - AN AMERICAN STORY. All three productions will star Hershey Felder and are directed by long-time collaborator Joel Zwick.
With MONSIEUR CHOPIN, audiences are invited to a private piano lesson that actually took place in the opulent Parisian salon of the Polish composer. In MAESTRO: THE ART OF LEONARD BERNSTEIN, Felder unfolds a story spanning the entire 20th century illustrating how Bernstein broke through every artistic ceiling possible to become the world's musical ambassador. And in his newest production, LINCOLN - AN AMERICAN STORY, the final night in Abraham Lincoln's life is told through the eyes of Dr. Charles Leale, the young medical student who was in attendance on the evening of that fateful performance at Ford's Theatre in Washington, D.C., and found himself at the center of American history as he unfolds his story of tending to Lincoln in his final hours. LINCOLN - AN AMERICAN STORY will be performed in front of a 45-piece symphony orchestra for this special engagement.

In addition to the three productions, The Pasadena Playhouse will present a one-night-only special performance of HERSHEY FELDER’S GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK SING-ALONG on Monday, March 19, 2012 at 8:00 p.m. Our audience will join Hershey Felder for a tour through an entire century of American music. Beginning with Irving Berlin, Jerome Kern and the Gershwins through Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim, featuring selections from THE SOUND OF MUSIC, SHOWBOAT, FIDDLER ON THE ROOF and more.


MONSIEUR CHOPIN: 90 minutes (No Intermission)
MAESTRO: THE ART OF LEONARD BERNSTEIN: 105 minutes (No Intermission)
LINCOLN - AN AMERICAN STORY: 90 minutes (No Intermission)

Special Thanks To Our Sponsors For HERSHEY FELDER COLLECTION

94.7 – The Wave
KJazz 88.1 FM
K-Mozart 105.1 FM
KUSC Classical fm 91.5

Special Thanks To Our Sponsors For LINCOLN - AN AMERICAN STORY Opening Night

94.7 – The Wave
Castle Catering
KJazz 88.1 FM
K-Mozart 105.1 FM
KUSC Classical fm 91.5
Paseo Colorado – Pasadena

Hershey Felder Collection - Multimedia